Wednesday, 29 June 2011

Scam Student Finance e-mail

Any emails from sfd_wbaster@slc.co.uk claiming to be about "Academic Year 2011/12 Payment Access Review" are a scam and should be deleted.

The link in the email does not go to the Student Finance website but to a spoof site. When you hold your mouse over the address, it begins with: "http://home-da4a.ru".

The text of the website, which is well written, begins:

Academic Year 2011/12

This is a message for all students receiving grants and loans from the Students Loan Company. You are required to verify your account information in order to avoid any delay in your loan/grant payments. You can do this by visiting http://www.studentfinance.direct.gov.uk*/

Yours Sincerely
Student Finance England
*clicking on this hyperlink in the original message will take you to the spoof site.

2 comments:

Nat said...

How you can state this email is well written is beyond me! It is full of grammatical and spelling errors and it was this that alerted me to the fact it may be a scam!

Richard Brennan said...

I can only see one error in the text I quoted above. Perhaps you could point the others out?

Perhaps you got a different, less well-written email?

Oh, and putting "Duh" at the end of your other comment implied I was stupid for having that opinion. You can foxtrot oscar for that. I'm not stupid.

 
Add to Technorati Favorites